Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All

Fatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell AllFatal Throne: The Wives of Henry VIII Tell All by Candace Fleming, Deborah Hopkinson, Jennifer Donnelly, Linda Sue Park, Lisa Ann Sandell, M.T. Anderson, Stephanie Hemphill
Publication Date: May 1, 2018
Publisher: Schwartz & Wade
Genre: Fiction, Historical Fiction, Short Stories, Young Adult
Pages: 388
Links: Buy On Amazon
Goodreads
Rating:

The tragic lives of Henry VIII and his six wives are reimagined by seven acclaimed and bestselling authors in this riveting novel, perfect for fans of Wolf Hall and Netflix's The Crown .

He was King Henry VIII, a charismatic and extravagant ruler obsessed with both his power as king and with siring a male heir.

They were his queens--six ill-fated women, each bound for divorce, or beheading, or death.

Watch spellbound as each of Henry's wives attempts to survive their unpredictable king and his power-hungry court. See the sword flash as fiery Anne Boleyn is beheaded for adultery. Follow Jane Seymour as she rises from bullied court maiden to beloved queen, only to die after giving birth. Feel Catherine Howard's terror as old lovers resurface and whisper vicious rumors to Henry's influential advisors. Experience the heartache of mothers as they lose son after son, heir after heir.

Told in stirring first-person accounts, Fatal Throne is at once provocative and heartbreaking, an epic tale that is also an intimate look at the royalty of the most perilous times in English history.

Who's Who:

* M. T. Anderson - Henry VIII
* Candace Fleming - Katharine of Aragon
* Stephanie Hemphill - Anne Boleyn
* Lisa Ann Sandell - Jane Seymour
* Jennifer Donnelly - Anna of Cleves
* Linda Sue Park - Catherine Howard
* Deborah Hopkinson - Kateryn Parr

Going into Fatal Throne I was not sure what to expect. But what I found was an enjoyable read. While each section is from the point of view of one of Henry’s views they don’t all start at the time they met Henry and end when they are no longer Queen. The variation I found rather interesting.

For me, I found Anne Bolyen’s story the most interesting of all in Fatal Throne. Throughout history she has not been favored well, but when you take a look at it through her eyes in this book it really makes you think. Yes, there are two sides to every story in history. While this book is fiction mixed with some historical facts, it makes you think.

In my opinion, I think that Catherine Parr got extremely lucky that Henry died before he could get rid of her. But with her pleas and Henry on her side she was able to escape arrest and possible death. But just how long could Catherine keep things up if Henry had lived longer.

It is a sad story that Henry left the world thinking he had finally had a male heir. But alas at 15 Edward died and crown moved on to Mary and then Elizabeth after Mary’s death. No matter how hard Henry tried the crown still ended up going to both of his daughters.

My favorite monarchs of the Tudor era are diffidently Henry VIII and Elizabeth. I have always been drawn to learning more about them. That is probably why I was so interested in reading this book.

Fatal Throne is a well written semi-fictional account of Henry VIII’s wives. The writing was easy to follow and the book had a clear flow. This book would be a good read for high school aged students and older. Overall I enjoyed the book and if you like learning about royal history and the Tudors you would probably like it as well.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.